Model year 2008 · 2nd gen (2005–2015)

2008 Toyota Tacoma specs

The 2008 Toyota Tacoma tows up to 6,499 lb and measures 190.4–221.3 in long, by configuration, per Toyota’s own documents.

We hold 13 configurations of the 2008 Tacoma, and Toyota gives a figure for every one.

Retail configurations
13
Documents
1
PreRunner Access Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 2.7L 4AT, drawn to scale from its published dimensions.

01 / Configurations

Every 2008 Tacoma configuration

13 retail configurations sold in 2008, each with the figures Toyota publishes for it. A number a factory package raises shows under the configuration’s own. Toyota gives figures for dimensions.

200813 configurations
2008 Toyota Tacoma 2nd gen: every configuration with its numbers
ConfigurationMax towingTire placardTires
Base Regular Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 2.7L (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,250 lb—
Base Access Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 2.7L (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,250 lb—
Base Regular Cab 6-ft bed 4x4 2.7L (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,301 lb—
Base Access Cab 6-ft bed 4x4 2.7L (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,301 lb—
Base Access Cab 6-ft bed 4x4 V6 (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,206 lb—
Base Double Cab 5-ft bed 4x4 V6 (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,199 lb—
Base Double Cab 6-ft bed 4x4 V6 (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,151 lb—
PreRunner Regular Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 2.7L (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,301 lb—
PreRunner Access Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 2.7L (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,301 lb—
PreRunner Access Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 V6 (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,301 lb—
PreRunner Double Cab 5-ft bed 4x2 V6 (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,301 lb—
PreRunner Double Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 V6 (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb1,301 lb—
X-Runner Access Cab 6-ft bed 4x2 V6 (transmission not stated)up to 3,499 lb851 lbP255/45R18

A dash means the maker’s documents we have don’t give that number for that configuration, and a column with no number for any configuration of the year isn’t shown. “Door label” means the maker prints it only on each vehicle’s certification label, and “not published” that the maker doesn’t print it, or points elsewhere. “Up to” is a ceiling the maker prints over several configurations; a range is the maker’s own, printed across the grades of that configuration. “Tire placard” is the occupants and cargo the tire and loading placard allows, which some makers print instead of, or next to, max payload; it is not the same number.

02 / What changed

New for 2008

The 2008 Tacoma against the 2006, the previous model year we hold. Only what Toyota’s documents show: nothing here is inferred.

  • No retail configuration added or dropped: the 13 sold in the 2006 are all here.
  • Same range as the 2006: towing and length.

03 / Tires

2008 Tacoma stock tire sizes

The tire sizes Toyota fits at the factory in 2008, the standard ones first.

2008 Toyota Tacoma stock tire sizes, with the configurations they are fitted to
Tire sizeWheelDiameternominal
P255/45R18Standard: X-Runner18 in27.0 in

Tacoma tire sizes, with wheel specs and what bigger tires change

04 / Sources

The 2008 documents

1 document behind the 2008 Tacoma’s figures. The maker’s own come first; a third-party page fills in only a number the maker doesn’t publish, and wears its own mark.

Documents last checked . How we read them and what the marks mean: how we source the numbers. A figure doesn’t match its document? Report a wrong number.

05 / Keep going

More on the Tacoma

These are Toyota’s published figures for the models it describes, not a weighbridge or a tape measure; your own vehicle’s options change them. Found a figure that doesn’t match the document? Tell us.